Taking Sides: A Tale of Peanut Butter

my new love. image courtesy of google

Hey guys!

If you, like me, take your nut butters seriously, then this one’s for you.

A few months (ish) ago, I can’t exactly remember when, I decided to try natural peanut butter. Gasp! I remember when I was younger great-grandma gave a jar of this stuff to my grandma, after which everyone declared the stuff “tasteless”. Haha!

Fast forward a couple of years and here I am, once again inflicting something ‘healthy’ and ‘natural’ (synonyms for gross in my family) on my poor innocent relatives. True to their nature though, the jar of peanut butter stays in the fridge for about a week before it’s completely empty. Barely enough in the bottom of the jar to feed a mouse (let alone a fridge-elephant!). This is what happens when I buy something ‘healthy’ that everyone claims to dislike: 1. food item gets brought home. 2. food item is claimed to be unfit to eat. 3. food item has disappeared by the end of the week.

Even I, ladies and gentlemen, cannot claim to have eaten a full 750 gram jar of goodness by the end of the week. Essentially, my family is a bunch of sneaks!! But, at least they’ve started to admit their likeness for my peanut butter 😉

Something equally strange is, for my whole life I remember distinctly being a smooth peanut butter person. Arguments were literally had, such as the following, circa fifth grade.

small me: smooth peanut butter is the best!

classmate: I like crunchy.

small me: what’s wrong with you?

classmate: what’s wrong with YOU??

small me: SMOOTH!

classmate: CRUNCHY!!!

argument does not get resolved

Alas, I was a difficult child.

However, now, I actually prefer crunchy natural peanut butter! I was really upset when I found out I only had one jar left in my cupboard, and it was smooth. Sad face. But it’s still getting eaten! On toast, in sandwiches, in oatmeal, dipped with apples….straight out of the jar…. 😀

How do you like your nut butters? Do you use more than just conventional peanut butter?

Leave a Reply

