Pumpkin Smoothie Inspired by Fall!

This morning was pretty interesting. I woke up with every intention of making a fabulous PANCAKE breakfast (very ambitious of me!), and I literally had all my pancakes made when all of a sudden my stomach said “nah-ah. Ain’t havin’ none of that!”

Does anyone else have this happen? All of a sudden you feel queasy and don’t want to eat? Weird.

So the pancakes got stored away for next time. But, as I have a class and a test later today that I can’t miss, I knew I needed something to give me energy. Thinking cap went on. BOOM. Pumpkin smoothie time. Obviously.

Easy to make, easy to digest, and (very) easy to eat! All while packing tons of nutrition and happiness with every slurp! I’ll try and get some pictures up with my next post, but this one was gone by the time I decided to share the recipe with you, haha!

Pumpkin Pie in a Glass Smoothie 

serves one

1 frozen banana, cut into chunks

1/2 a cup frozen pumpkin puree (I prefer frozen to give the smoothie a really frosty texture)

1 1/2 tsp blackstrap molasses

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice*

1 tsp honey

1 heaping spoonful of greek yogurt

1 cup milk of choice (I use unpasteurized cow’s milk)

Place all ingredients in your blender and whir away! Try and keep the honey and molasses away from the sides of the blender as it likes to stick there, making it difficult to get your smoothie all mixed up. If you prefer a thicker smoothie, you can add the milk to taste to get the perfect consistency. I’m a thick smoothie kinda girl myself! Pour into a glass, garnish with some cinnamon, and enjoy!

*if you don’t have pumpkin pie spice, you can always combine 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg

How’s that for a powerhouse breakfast? Molasses for iron and other micronutrients, beta-carotene and fiber from the pumpkin, and protein from the yogurt and milk! A perfect way to start the day! I also find it does wonders for those sugary cravings you get when cool fall weather hits…I told myself I’d get a brownie after class today since it’s Friday, but now I don’t even feel like I need it anymore. Woo-hoo!

So tell me, what’s your favourite fall breakfast? I usually alternate between a couple of basic meals, but this one was a bit of a switch up! What a wonderful switch it was, too! Happy cooking (and blending!).

Leave a Reply

